3D Printing Components - Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum

Go Back   Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum > Technical Section > Paint and Bodywork
Register iTrader FAQDonate Image Host All New Posts New Streetfighter Posts Insurance

Paint and Bodywork Anything to do with fabricating bodywork, composites, prep and paint work goes in here.

CustomFighters.com Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum > 3D Printing Components

Old Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum Post 05-10-2017, 10:48 AM   #1
Ketos750
NoObie
Noobie
Local Time: 02:13 PM
Flip Offs: 0
Flipped Off 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ketos750 is a NOOB
Default 3D Printing Components

So I have been designing and fabricating equipment at work for several years using AutoCAD, Blender, Sketchup, and Solidworks. They all have their advantages, but for the person looking to get into to part development, Sketchup is the way to go.

Getting to the point though, I don't want to pay $100 for a standard anodized aluminum boring headlight bracket when I've spent a year and wayyyyy to much energy getting my bike to the state it is in. SOOO I have started to design custom parts that I can print with a local 3D printer I've worked with before. The pics are the design for the first iteration headlight bracket I came up with for 45mm right side up forks. It is currently being printed and I should have an update this evening or tomorrow. Total cost with heavy duty Titan ABS in black was $55 (10 of which was start up, so more parts = less money).

I'd love to hear comments and advice on design, and if anyone is looking for part prototypes and tweaks I can do it with just a few measurements and your input. My guy can do 3D prints and CNC with different materials. The next part on my 3D list is a gauge cluster bracket to mount on my Protaper bar an ignition holder to move the key away from the bars, and a chain guard. Then a poly-carbonate clutch cover on the CNC.

Click image for larger version