Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey whats up everyone, im new here so i figured i would shoot up a thread about my build.

I just bought this bike for 300 bucks off a desperate seller.

Its a 1993 GSXR750.

First on the list is redoing the electrical systems, installing mirrors and blinkers and a new headlight. I also have a leaking bolt in the transmission case so ill have to yank that out, re tap and thread the hole and stick a bigger bolt in. Ive been JB welding it for a quick fix in the mean time.

Its missing a lot of the plastics because the bike was laid down a while back, but i dont mind because i wanted to replace them anyways.

Im new to motorcycles but have worked on cars sense i was 16 years old. I have a question id like to ask.

I bought the bike yesterday, started up just find, road it around for about 6 hours, parked it at home and when i went to start it up this morning to go to work it wouldnt fire up. It was just making that "whining" noise but wouldnt crank over. I figured the battery didnt have enough juice to fire it up so i attempted to jump start the bike with my ex girlfriends car and i blew out the batter. So i went to the store, picked up a new one and had them charge it. Itll be ready in about an hour from now, so on my lunch break im going to go pick it up and install it, and hopefully it starts up. IF not, what are some other potential reasons the bike wont fire up? it worked perfectly the day before, but this morning no luck.

I was told it may be a relay somewhere, anyone have any clues on that? Also, im worried that while i was attempting to jump the bike i may have blown a fuse in the process, is that a common issue when making a newb mistake like mine?

Thanks for the input guys, Heres a picture of my bucket bike.....remember i bought it as a project bike lol, and for 300 bucks!

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts