Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Victory or Death
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just to start off, I bought the 1997 CBR600F3 with 23XXX miles on it for a few hundred dollars. It was stored by a bunch of goats, so when I got it, it had goat sh*t all over the place. The bike had been laid down so none of the front fairings were there, and the instrument cluster was poorly welded on, and it had no headlight. The tail section was not attached, and with further examination, the taillight was actually spray foamed into the tail. It also came with some awesome pink pegs, broken clip-on and throttle. So needless to say, it needed some work. The bike was running before I began the tear down. This was my first go at a sport bike, I had previously built and ridden cruisers and bobbers/choppers. I am a fabricator by trade and have done all the work myself. Hope you all like it. I am currently almost complete with the build. I will be updating you on the whole process in the coming days/week, and then the final reveal should be in the next week or two.

Before chopping up began, and after a good cleanse to remove the goat sh*t.

·
Victory or Death
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
My first order of business was to strip the thing down. took everything off, including the engine, exhaust, controls, etc. I started out by cutting off the sub frame. I love the look of the old school café racers and the look of a street fighter, so I decided to combine the two into the café-fighter style, a little of both worlds. It would have a café style tail section and open frame design, but it would get the body and stripped down look of a street fighter. I used my hand dandy angle grinder and hack saw to get the subframe removed and cleaned up.