Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, basically, I have very little experience with working on bikes (Read, none) However, with the awful condition I picked my bike up in, I'm catching on fairly quickly I'd like to think. So, here is my problem, fork/triple is bent on my bike, the shop couldn't tell me which it was. Is there an easy way to check aside from ripping apart the front end? Now, if it is in fact the triple, I'll probably only end up replacing that. But if it's a fork leg, I'll be getting new legs and a new triple.

Here's where I'd like for it to get interesting. Provided I'm not going to end up lighting my bike on fire in a rage, I want to do a fork swap, get something a bit cooler than the standard R6 forks. The advice I need for this, are there direct swaps? Could I drop a CBR or Ninja fork on there and call it a day? Would I need to get matching calipers for whatever fork I end up getting? I am leaning heavily towards a completely different fork rather than just another 99-01 R6 replacement, this is Custom Fighters, after all right?

Yes, I did read the stickies, but got lost very quickly as my knowledge of terminology is very limited. So, please keep that in mind when replying and try to use as simple language as possible.

·
Registered
269 Posts
If you're looking for inverted forks, where the chrome inner tube is on the bottom like all modern super sports, then you can likely bolt on R6 trees and forks from an '05 R6 or newer. '05 was the first year Yamaha went from conventional forks, like yours, to inverted forks on the R6. On some model bikes the steering stem inside the neck of the bike is the same dimensions as the stem in another bike of the same make. Like a 2004 R6 can bolt on 2005 R6 forks even though the forks and trees are different, but the stem is the same. Make sense?