Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2013 650r Project

So after low siding, I am walking the street fighter route as opposed to buying new plastics. I will not lie, I am new to customization, but I'm also studying to be an Engineer so I like to take stuff apart and rebuild it.

To start I will be needing lights, mirrors, and a gauge..I also think I will be getting either Sports bars or clips-ons. I have heard the clip on route is the way to go but would like to confirm. In my opinion it would seem that that would also free up more space in the front for a gauge.

Do you think for my purpose that these might serve? They are adjustable and also cheaper than the sports bars.

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Welcome to CF....

You can buy those clipons they'll work or to save a couple bucks you could find out what size your forks are and buy a used set off eBay that are the same size.

·
Elbow Grease is Cheap
6,370 Posts
Damn those clip ons are kinda spendy. It's kind of a personal choice thing. Have you ever rode a bike that had clip-ons? It is different and the body position takes some getting used to. Use you core(Abs/back) muscles to support your weight......no weight on your wrists.

You can find regular street bars for way cheaper
Renthal Street bars $50-$60 all day long.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odk...=renthal+handlebars+754-01&_sacat=0&_from=R40

That search is for the "road low" p/n 754-01
More options here
http://www.renthalroad.com/File/product_78handlebars.aspx

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Its a big change in feel to go to clip ons. I have a set of 41mm Woodcraft clip ons that I had on my 650r for a little while that I was just getting ready to take pics and put up for sale on here if your interested.