Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started this build a couple of months back after winter started to thaw so this will include what has been done thus far.

The bike is a 1990 CBR 1000F that I bought a few years ago and have been wanting to turn it into a fighter for awhile now. Apparently the bike used to be owned by a Blue Angel Air Force pilot. Hence the color scheme and an Air Force patch that used to be on the seat.

Since the bike is over 2 decades old I figured that it needs to be given a new look.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Engine is way dirty from a leaking head gasket. I am dropping it to clean and paint the block. This is my first time undertaking any mechanical project this far. I am kind of making it up as I go but this type of building seems to be pretty common on this forum so I am hoping that it turns out all right.

Way dirty!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Went to a motorcycle junk yard the other weekend to get some ideas and look for parts for my build. I am planning on swapping the sub-frame and tail fairings with something that is a little more aggressive looking. I am planning on keeping it as a 2 seater. I have no experience welding so when I found this I went for it.

Monster edition Ninja with a bolt on aluminum subframe!
I dont remember what model or year it is. If anyone knows please tell me.

The subframe is bolted on and was not to difficult to remove. I figure that I could create some brakets to mount on to.
Since my frame is steel this would be difficult to weld directly on to my frame, at least that is what I am told when trying to weld 2 different types of metals.

Using the Ninja subframe including the fairings and tail light I figured this would be easier and more cost effective to just mount the whole tail section on my bike. So I bought it and figured that I would work out the details later.