Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Atlanta StreetFighter
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so this is the start of my first build. its a 1992 1100 gsx-r that i picked up complete for $200. a good friend of mine used to own this bike and when he passed away his wife sold it to me.

these are a few pictures of where im up to now...

first things first lets tear her down

and theres the pile of junk im sure i will get yelled at for later :oops:

say goodbye to that tail! tomorrow the fun begins. im going to bob the rear end and go with a custom subframe. the motor should be back to me by the end of the month.

as i mentioned this is my first build so if anyones got any suggestions feel free to post. ive got a general idea of what i want to do with the bike but nothing is set in stone. ill get pics up as she progresses

·
Atlanta StreetFighter
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Looks good man! Definitely a great start

I know you say this is your first build, but have you ever done anything like this before? Are you going to be doing the fabricating and welding or you outsourcing it? Im no expert by any means, but I can offer you any help and teach you anything that i know if you are new to this stuff
new to bikes, my back ground is cars . most of the big stuff is getting outsourced but i gotta learn sometime so im prepared to jump in and make a few mistakes lol

·
Back at it for now.
1,545 Posts
Nice project you got going there. I also have a 93 gsxr 750 build in progress. Be happy to trade notes with ya if you need. You know where to find me.

·
Atlanta StreetFighter
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
small update. took awhile because the guy i bought the swingarm from "forgot" to mail it out but now that its here subframe and modified swingarm are in the works. hopefully will have some pics by the end of the week.