Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
Fairly new member here starting my vfr fighter project. I've been browsing through threads trying to find the look I'm after. I don't know if I found it yet but I'll wing it for now.
I started my tear down earlier this week. I'm on a tight budget of about $1000 to spend on it.
I work at an automotive factory as an automation tech and have access to all the saws, drills and welders I might need. So now for some pics to where I'm at so far.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Welcome to CF.......

That was one clean VFR before you tore it apart

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Ok, it's going pretty slow but this is my first time. I was just throwing some idea's around for the tail. I cut the seat in half just above where it rises up, and cut the subframe the same and welded in some braces in the back.
Now this is just an idea so far. I want to cut the rear fairings to match and fab up the tail light section into it making it one nice piece, but its not an even cut anywhere so i'll have to use some fiberglass and fill and shape it.
My original idea was to just do a tail swap but that's so unoriginal. Any thoughts about it?
Here are some pics of the progress,

Well I couldn't upload them here, but I was able to put them in my album if anyone want's a look.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well this is where I'm at now. Took off the clip-ons and got some risers and had some drag bars lying around. I personally like the look so far, although I know some people are unimpressed with a cut in half subframe. I will probably make my own subframe later on but for now it will do. My next task is to tidy up the front end and get a headlight. I'm thinking of going with a 7" round light.

Attachments

·
Hack in a barn
4,409 Posts
I like the look of those drag bars!