Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.

Firstly it is probably best that I let you all know that I am new to the custom bike scene. I have predominantly ridden and owned supersports and sports tourers. I do not have an extensive workshop, just a home enthusiasts garage. My mechanics, welding and fabricating skills are all self taught. I have stripped and rebuilt two bikes but most of my spare time has always been spent on my vehicles with 4 wheels. I have now decided to try my hand at creating a custom bike from an old insurance write off VFR which has been stored away for sometime. I'd say it was in an average condition for the age (over 20yrs), mileage (65k) and climate (Wales, UK).

I have stripped the bike of the fairing and headlight unit and after some tinkering the bike is now running again. My next step is to give it a good clean before deciding what needs changing/replacing.

I don't have a budget as such, it will be an ongoing project, however any money put towards this will be carefully calculated as it is only a side project for my own learning. I understand I am unlikely to make a profit if I were to eventually sell the bike but I also do not wish to be at a huge loss.

Does anyone here have any experience customising a fifth generation VFR800?

What tends to be the biggest changes to bikes to give them that fighter style?

My current intentions are:
A new headlight setup - There are a lot of aftermarket front units which can be adapted to fit but any recommendations are gladly welcomed.

To change the rear frame so it a single seat - Same with any advice on changing the rear end. I was planning on making a mock up out of timber then fabricating it from metal once I am happy with it. I would most likely shorten any electrics as I do not really like the idea of having to hide all the excess.