Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to TIG so I have run into an issue that might have a simple answer...but I'm stumped. I am building a sheet metal brake for another project I thought I would make out of Aluminium I had laying around. I am attempting to attach the legs I made to the main base. I can't seem to join the two and was hoping someone could explain what is going on.

So here is the backstory The main base is 1/4in 6061 and the "legs" are 1/16in aluminum scrap(so I do not know exactly what it is). I thought if I could focus the arc on the thick metal , heat it knowing I am not going to get fantastic penetration, and just melt the thinner metal into the base I could join the two without blowing out the thinner metal. When I strike the arc the tungsten immediately eats away like it would if you struck it without and gas. I tried two different tungstens and both did the same thing. I cleaned the first time with non-chlorinated brake cleaner. I thought it might be something to do with surface prep so I scrubbed with a wire brush and then wiped it down again but no change. I then ran a bead on a scrap piece of aluminium I practiced on previously to check to see if the welder was malfunctioning and that bead was fine. Here is the list of specs and settings I am using:

Eastwood TIG 200 set to AC
3/32 grey tungsten
100% Argon is set at 20
foot pedal at 140amp
Clearance Effect set at -1 and then +1, no difference
#5 alumina cup
pre flow is .5 sec

Here is a shot of the tungsten that is thrashed. This happened immediately as the arc was struck. At least a few mm were lost as the tungsten just kind of dissolved before my eyes.