Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I should probably preface this thread by saying, "I don't know what the hell I'm doing." The only mechanical experience I have is from small dirtbikes...

But! I am a good researcher and a fairly mechanically inclined individual, so I'm gonna give this a shot. This build is also going to come sporadically, and in waves, and I anticipate it taking a good while to complete - if these sort of things are ever "complete." I'm from Oregon but I'm going to college in Connecticut so at least for right now, I'll just be working on the bike in the summers and winter breaks. At school I have access to fully equipped machine and fabrication shops, so maybe once I get farther in I'll try to make a cross country journey to get the bike over there. For now, I'm stuck at home with mostly hand tools and no sheltered workspace. But shit, I forgot about the bike. So here it is, a purple pyle of a 1981 Honda CB750F I found on Craigslist a few weeks before coming home for the summer:

I've done some things to it since then... this is how it sits now:

Documented changes thus far:
- Removed all evidence of purple people eater attack on motorcycle
- stripped tank to bare metal + clear coat
- New grips, bar end mirrors, front blinkers
- refinished, painted, and wrapped headers
- Made new tail section sunk into seat

The tail section using the original seat is temporary, I think. I wanted to do a cafe style tailsection and relocate the electricals for that open mid section look.

- started on initial designs for side panels
- fought with PODS and jetting, lost battle