Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Breaking my head,need advice : NOISES (vids posted!)** UPDATE!

UPDATE: problem 1 and 3 and are correlated. Apparently, something (probably stuck carb float, or bad fuel petcock) caused fuel to overflow into the airbox and cylinders. I have sense pulled carbs out and cleaned thoroughly, and ordered new fuel petcock, since my lever on the petcock was snapped off anyways.
currently in process of oil/filter change as fuel has mixed in with oil.

I am not a mechanic.. just some noob who bought his first bike, a stock bandit, and fucked around with it by modding it in my little garage and asking for help here...I've learned a lot, but I'm far from diagnosing issues. so please spare me the flame.

I rode the bike yesterday, with no real issue at all... aside a minor problem with starter...stuck&BANG, then everything was peachy. I pulled it in garage to inspect wtf is going on...here ya go... found 3 issues

Problem #1

first issues: Ignition.

1. The bike (although rarely) sounds like it struggles to turn on... I press the starter button and I hear the electrical starter motor function... but cant turn... I keep trying and BANG! (everything stops) sounds like metal on metal.... i freak out... roll the bike around a bit, switch through gears and try again, and it works like a charm...and i have no problems with starting it thereafter.

now, it just wont bang. It wont do anything but fail to turn on...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85iBUshFKa4

I inspect all the battery cables, remove them, and clean them up...still nothing. It wont turn, but now I notice "clicking" like a dead battery.

So, I inspect the battery... I hook it up to a multimeter and it read 11.XX....while its connected I try to start the bike, and while its trying to turn, the battery reads 3.XX, then back up to 11.XX when I stop.