Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my bike completely shut off on me the other day driving down the highway,electronics completely died, figured it was the battery , it was ,wouldn't hold a charge above 9.0,replaced the battery and is running strong, but now my r/r melted and smoked on me ,i thought the r/r maybe just had kicked it so i got a new one and the same thing melted right through, does this sound like a grounding issue somewere in my electronics or a stator issue , im a bit confused and cant seem to get an answer anywere , im a noob but i want to learn this stuff so i can broden my skill set.
would really appreciate the help
thanks guys

·
Noobie
2,739 Posts
couple months ago i've seen something like that on the cbr forum (sorry i don't remember the exact location)
seems it was something that often happened on the 90's honda that using that kind of R/R, some people change the R/R using gsxr/r6, some add a heatsink & ground cable on the original R/R

·
Here to F stuff up
144 Posts

this is one of the best electrical troubleshooting flowcharts ive ever found. now this is specific to an fzr 600, so some of the resistances need to be changed around for the cbr, but its a pretty straightforward way to find charging issues.

and truthfully, most of the voltage regulators from the 90's suck anyways, so youd be better off upgrading to a modern one, off a gsxr, r6, or something more modern. i know a very simple one to use is a 5 pin yzf 600 regulator, it should be useable on this bike.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Virtually any R/R is compatible, they all do the same thing. 3 phase AC in regulated DC out. 3 pins for AC, 1 for DC- and 1 for DC+. My '97 Vmax had the r/r from a 2012 ZX14 under the seat. Get one with a part number that starts with FH(mosfet), not SH(shunt). Like 99% of them for all OEMs are made by the same company.