Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused: I am new at building and modifying my bike. I have a Yamaha yzf600r. (no pics yet, sorry) I completely tore it down and now was attempting to put the Acerbis Cyclops on when i realized I have lost the wiring diagram for the headlights. Has anyone got any ideas on what I should do? I already attempted to contact acerbis for another diagram with no response.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
but how do I affix them to the wires on my bike? I have a plug that consists of 3 wires, yet on my cyclops I have 6 wires, 3 to each part of the lamp. That is where I am confused

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
Learn how to splice wires before getting into your bike's electronics.

You need to cut off the plug that went to your stock lights and use butt connectors (also called crimps, you'll need a crimp tool, they're like $20) to connect the Acerbis wiring to your stock headlight plug, then just plug it back in.

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
To use a butt connector:

Cut the wire, then strip about 1/4 inch of insulation off the end. Twist the copper together so it doesn't fray, and put it in one end of the butt connector and squeeze it with the crimp tool. Make sure you can't tug the wires out of the butt connector easily.
Then do it with the wire you want to connect to that one.

·
Eff Tee Pee
29,647 Posts
do you have a wiring diagram for the bike??? i may have my diagram from my acerbis somewhere....

mbe i can hook you up if i can find it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I know about wiring, I am not a COMPLETE know nothing!!! I just want to know how I get 6 wires spliced into 3!!!! and NOT HOW TO DO IT, but which ones to pair up!

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
Oh okay
I see what you're saying now