Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased this 1997 TL1000S last year, it being bone stock at the time, knowing that I would eventually be "fightering" it:

but ultimately it was so much fun to ride that it seemed I would never get this project off the ground. I was sure that this last winter was start time but one head gasket (1985 C10) and that6 was all shot to hell.

I had changed the exhaust to some cheap Dan Moto offerings and ultimately decide that they were going to be my shape driven inspiration for what I refer to as my "vision" LOL:

So the diamond shape it is...been looking for options and I think I have found a couple...

Needless to say I am excited about getting this thing going as it is my first fighter build...although I have some build experience with a chop that a built a few years ago:

Other absolutes: Shorten the bike body up and keep it cheap!

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I appreciate the picture fix on the previous post...I couldn't figure out how to put it up right.:LolLolLolLol:

Recent purchase of all the tupperware will force me to work on it now...although it kind of looks like that motorcycle robot from the Terminator, Ha!

·
GURU of da poo poo
5,717 Posts
Get something to replace the stock rear suspension asap.

·
Hack in a barn
4,409 Posts
Subscribed!...

I really like that exhaust! Going to have to take a look at those for future projects...

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So I started the cut on the tail section, noting special here but making some progress

I think I'm going to have to add some cross bracing here as it does not appear that the tail will fit properly with the bar across the back at what...3 inches high. No Tig so it'll have to be bolt on and stout!

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·