Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 602 Posts

·
Night Crawler
316 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm new to this place. I'm from NZ, and I'm supposedly a qualified industrial designer but I'm currently studying CAD. My project is a 1987 VFR400 nc24.

I am converting it to electric, but I want to give it a new look as well. New sub frame, new lights, new 'tank'. It will need some kind of frame to support the battery box and become a stressed member. Thinking of 1mm stainless steel, laser cut for the battery box. This thread won't move super fast, but I hope it doesn't take years either. My motor is turning up in a few weeks! For anyone interested in the gear: AC15 motor, Winston 60aH batteries (24) and curtis 550A controller. Bike will have regen as standard as its an AC motor.

Yellow lines show rough idea for tubular frame.

I'm using/will be using programs such as Inventor and Solidworks to figure things out. Also Pepakura (great for figuring out nets etc for building faceted tanks/ fairings etc

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Welcome to CF....... I'm really curious to see this. How fast do you think it'll go? What do you think the weight will be fully built? How long will your charge last?
Like I said I'm really curious about it. Lol

·
Night Crawler
316 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Welcome to CF....... I'm really curious to see this. How fast do you think it'll go? What do you think the weight will be fully built? How long will your charge last?
Like I said I'm really curious about it. Lol