Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Just call me goose.
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any engine fart gurus on here? I'm trying to design a system but I'm fairly new to this and don't even know where to start.

1126cc 72 degree V twin, DOHC 4 valves per cylinder, 103.0 x 67.5mm (bore x stroke), running 12.3:1 compression, redline at 11k rpm. I'm looking more beef everywhere. It's there, I'm just not sure how to get it.

At first glance, I'm thinking, individual 1 7/8" off the headers into a 45 bend, around the bottom of the collector, bump to 2" short merge X with a long split into individual 2 1/4", run it sraight under the engine then 45's turned out then 45 turned vertically into 2.5" packed short pipe.

Anyone know the formula for the calculations? What intake measurements will I need?

·
V four honda whore
12,487 Posts
Pipes will be unequal lenght.

And for that displacement and engine configuration i see no,other possible bike. Since this is not an agriculture tech... Ehm i mean chopper forum

Reactions: gsf1200R

·
lɐʇuǝɯᴉɹǝdx&#4
3,518 Posts
Unequal pipe lenght for a v twin might be ideal for scavenging, since exhaust pulses don't happen at equal intervals.

No idea what the math would be for ideal lengths though. Those look crazy short to me, but who knows?

·
UnicycleMode
7,584 Posts
Unequal pipe lenght for a v twin might be ideal for scavenging, since exhaust pulses don't happen at equal intervals.

No idea what the math would be for ideal lengths though. Those look crazy short to me, but who knows?
I've always had the best luck with exhaust building on twins by going unequal length on the primary pipes before the collector. Seems to smooth out the pulses quite a bit.

·
ShamanFighter
22,340 Posts