Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone, My name is John. So, to start out i am new to the CBR seen. I have a Harley and was raised on them all my life. I just came into position of a 1987 CBR 600 Caine. It is pretty cool, and I have been putting in a lot of hours the last two weeks trying to get it drivable. I finally got carbs all put back together and on, fired it up for the first time, it ran great all considered. In the picture it has the front fairing on it, and I also have all other plastic, but plan on going the street fighter look. I would love any input on good ideas to do to it, I need a new speed cluster that is reasonable, I have been looking at the Acewell brand and also the danmoto one, if you guys know of a better cheaper one let me know. I know this is not a trouble shooting section but after firing it up today and ridding it for the first time it over heated and coolant boiled out overflow, what would cause this I checked the oil (even though I changed it the day I got it and put the recommended 3.5 quarts in) it was about 1.5 quarts low… could that have been the problem? All your input and help will be appreciated and I plan on starting a build thread soon.:CK187:
ps:the other pic is the new streetfighter fairing i ordered let me know what you think.

Attachments

·
The one and only.
685 Posts
a lot of people (including myself) have used a bicycle speedometer. its pretty simple to get it set up and they cost about $10-$20.

i would completely clean the bike (if you havent done so already) then go for a little ride (KEEP your eye on the temps!) then it will be a bit easier to see where/if its leaking any fluids. maybe check the raditor?

welcome to the site!

Reactions: oldrider

·
Administrator
50,493 Posts
welcom in John',check yer rad cap is sealing well and that yer fan is workin properly .

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6