Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
n00b extraordinaire
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,
So I just bought my first street-bike recently (very excited). I am trying to use it as a daily commuter for ~15mi a day to/from work and stuff.

Anyway, I have some super noobish questions. I have a decent mechanical background (I like to build cars, mostly) so I am not a total noob - just to bikes.

Here is what I bought for around 1K - a 1984 Suzuki GN 250 in pretty good shape.

Tore the head off and cleaned a ton of gunk from the inside of the carb, and it runs pretty well now - starts right up and everything.

Anyway - I have some kind of basic questions;

Brakes - I hate drum brakes of all varieties - and the ones on this thing are shot to hell. Back brake barely works, and the front one is not very strong and is very sensitive at low speeds.
What can be done to fix this? I can't seem to find a good guide on overhauling a brake drum on a motorcycle.

I would reallllly love to do a disc brake conversion, but i don't know what to do about wheels. It seems like the drum is integral to the design of the ones I have, and a disc retrofit would need a wheel at the least. How do you pick forks for these things - meaning, what should I look for when picking out used forks on ebay for example. Looking at things like this;
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1981-81-Suz...Parts_Accessories&hash=item232bfa46b7&vxp=mtr

Suspension - Front forks are absolutely shot (bottom out on even mild braking). I guess this falls under the question of replace or rebuild. Rears look like there are tons of replacements for, so I am not concerned.

Tires - Ditto, but the ones on the bike are ~18 years old which scares me (degraded compound is unpredictable). Obviously i don't want to buy useless sets of tires, so I guess I need to wait until I know what wheels I am sticking with in the long-term.