Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Forearm of Steel
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read through the threads here about making custom tails for our fighters, and I'm about ready to begin my journey - here's to my fiberglass cherry about to pop :beer:

This is the tail section in question:

I've got a few questions:

1. If I mask the subframe off, fill the parts with spray foam, shape it to how I like, then mask off the foam, am I ready to lay down fiberglass layers?

2. What's the best process to lay down fiberglass? I need a basic lesson in fiberglass I guess, as much info as you can type.

3. Are there any good online retailers? I've seen a few but I don't know if the prices are good since I'm just getting into this.

4. I know there are different weights of matts - Which is best to use where?

5. What materials would give me the best results? Resins, fillers, matts, etc.

If it helps, this will just be a tail section with no structural purpose - it will only be holding up a tail light, license plate, and covering up the subframe.

Thanks for the advice guys.

·
Registered
72 Posts
You can lay up over spray foam with fiberglass directly. If you use something like floral foam you would need to cover it with tinfoil to keep the resin from eating away the foam. I like to use floral foam and glue the blocks together for shaping since it is alot easier to shape than spray foam, but it does damage easily if you bump it with something or sand too much off.