Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how's it going? I got a lot of inspiration for working on my bike from this site so I figured why not join in.

a little about myself: started riding on a 1983 (I think) honda shadow 750, was a scrap bike that randomly started "working". My dad picked it up for $500 so him, my brother and I could ride together.

Got my permit, and started doing small runs up and down the road by my house with my brother in the car following me. Eventually I started riding down into town, and then eventually rode to work.

Realized I needed my license, so I took the MSF course offered in my area. This was about 2 years ago. As I was taking the course, I saved up my money and bought myself a 2006 ninja 650.

Cause of classes and doing a summer program, I had to sell it for money. I absolutely regret it. I loved the shit out of that bike, absolutely nothing wrong with it.

Anyways, still had the itch to ride so this past fall I picked up a 89' EX500 for $900 bucks.

I always loved the streetfighter look, but never really acted upon it. That's until I got into a minor accident, resulting in my already kind of busted up bike looking even more busted.

So, now I'm here. Good thing my dad's a mechanic or else I'd have to shell out a lot more money and have a completely different bike. Me and him are currently working together to build it back up.

At the moment, the motor is completely taken apart, and I received the gaskets for the engine in the mail today. I'd post photos, but all I have are photos from before the crash.
regarding modifications:
- I painted a part of the frame, repainted some of the fairings I am going to put on
- bought replacement turn signals, going to chop the tail fender and put really minimal turn signals on the back.
- bought a standard round headlight off amazon, along with minila style turn signals for the front along with a bracket.