Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dose any one have any info on how to time/setup the points on a cb 125 possibly xl 125 it dose spark just not at tdc what are the timing marks? cant find any info any where on this also there is no bolt in the end of the shaft for the cam that activates the points arm is this just a 10 mm bolt with a washer?

Any help greatly appreciated!!!!!!!!!

·
Is my bike ok?
15,255 Posts
I have zero experience with the 125, but I'm pretty familiar with the CB 750's. Its a good chance Honda set them up the same way. When I get in (to a real computer) I'll put up what the FSM has for those.

Do you have any pics of the points plate we can look at? We might be able to figure it out without ant literature. A lot of these setups are pretty common / reused between models.

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i dont sorry its not my bike trying to help out a friend get his first bike on the road.

I'm not sure I remember it but I think you set the flywheel to TDC and
line up the points back plate mark with the mark on the engine.
Then set the points gap.

i did find this but its for a cb 360

I will see if i can get pics of it for you!!!!!!

·
UnicycleMode
7,584 Posts
CB125 points and CB360 points should be the same when it comes to the design and adjustment. Should be able to line up the crank at TDC and set the timing plate without much problem.

I have some stuff to unload from my truck into the shop this morning so I'll check my '74 XL125 engine (same thing as the CB/CL 125's) and see if I can come up with a picture and an explanation for some better advice on how to get it adjusted into spec and working proper. ;)

·
UnicycleMode
7,584 Posts