Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so Noob here. just got new 2003 SV650s running after it was sitting for a few years.

while riding, it is difficult to change gears from 1st to 2nd and then trying to find Neutral is like threading a needle after having a few to drink. I just have it in 1st while I'm at a stop.

while the bike is not on but the power is, I can shift into any gear and find neutral no problem...

what is going on??

·
sickboy
3,544 Posts
is that the piece that connects the shift lever to the tranny? (Excuse my noobness) lol
In very very simple terms yes lol. Shift lever connects to shift shaft, shift shaft connects to what they call a gear plate that moves what many people call a "shift star," the star is connected to a shift drum, the shift drum has slot in it that the shift fork nubs fit into. So when you move the lever up or down, the star turns the drum which in turn pushes or pulls the forks. etc etc etc lol.

Could also be a damaged shift star causing your problems, doesnt usually happen but ive seen stranger things.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Neutral being difficult to find is usually because the clutch is dragging more than is ideal. This can be a stretched out or misadjusted clutch cable, or believe it or not, you need an oil change. Spent oil isn't as slippery as new, and since you have a wet clutch, this means more dragging when the pressure plate is disengaged.

Your clutch lever should have about 1/2" of free play before you feel resistance. If there's a ton of slop you might not be fully disengaging it.

A bent shift fork or damaged drum are possibilities, but definitely check clutch play and try fresh oil first.

·
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
30,379 Posts

·
sickboy
3,544 Posts
still doesn't explain why its hard to shift from first to second.

·
sickboy
3,544 Posts
^ that's my guess. combo of bent fork and unadjusted/ bad cable

·
Registered