Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to get a welder so I can start the heavy mods on my bike. "I have some welding experience in the past and understand the basics and will be practicing a bunch before I turn myself loose on my bike." Anyways, I went to the local welding shop and asked about welding aluminum with a "Mig" and he said it would cost as much as a "Tig" welder by time I bought a spool gun and accessoires ect. Yet at Home Depot they have Lincoln "Mig" welders for around $300.00 that say you can weld aluminum with the stuff in the box plus a bottle of argon.. Can you guys shed some light on the subject for me. I don't have $2000.00 for a "Tig" welder. I just want to make my own exhaust and redo the sub frame, things like that. I'm not going to weld together a frame or something like that with my skills.
Thanks in advance
Killer Tiller

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
MIG is fine as long as you don't want really pretty welds, or unless you plan on welding frames or something stupid like that.

·
British Bloke in Canada
2,146 Posts
First you cant weld mig with a 300 home depot welder, Sorry, a spool gun isnt really acurate or small enough to weld aluminium, Aluminum pipe yeah, but nice small tite welds will look like ass,
Buy a tig welder, it takes some practice but you will pleased with the end result.
Something Like the Miller Maxter 140 and up its has the ability to 110 and 230volts, and is a real tool. small and it allso does stick.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Britjoe said:
First you cant weld mig with a 300 home depot welder, Sorry, a spool gun isnt really acurate or small enough to weld aluminium, Aluminum pipe yeah, but nice small tite welds will look like ass,
Buy a tig welder, it takes some practice but you will pleased with the end result.