Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, just have a couple questions pertaining to importing a motorcycle from the US to Germany. I have some experience with AMG Mercedes in the past, but never with a motorcycle and am very curios as to what would need to be changed in order to make the motorcycle street legal in Germany (Lights, dials, exhaust are what usually needs to be changed on a car.) I am moving there for college and would like to not only bring a bike over for myself, but also to sell. I was wondering if it would be profitable to do this (not sure about the transportation and modification costs as compared to a car.) I was thinking i would purchase a Buell here in the US, specifically Salt Lake City http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=218&ad=16366797&cat=144&lpid=&search=buell something like this, another XB, or a 1125R, and then re sell them in Germany. I was thinking Buell because not only are (were) they American, but also part of Harley, which inherently makes them more valuable outside of the US (In Germany, anything that says Mustang/Camaro/Charger, etc on it sells quick because its American), and also because they are no longer being produced, making them a collectors item. Buells being mostly classified as streetfighters would also mean they would be popular in Germany. Here is a listing in Germany of Buells for sale: http://www.autoscout24.de/modelle/motorrad/buell/ Virtually all of them are considerably more expensive in Germany than in the US which got me thinking.

I guess the main questions are:

1. What are the costs of importing a motorcycle from the US to Germany(transport, mods, etc.)?

2. What additional taxes would need to be paid to then legally resell the motorcycle (MwSt)?

3. How popular are Buells in Germany?

I would appreciate any and all replies. Thanks, and have a great weekend!