Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The crash was me being an idiot and going off a 20-30 ft embankment after locking my brakes twice on a unexpected sharpening turn and the bike tumbled down hitting upside down on the handlebars, the rear, and the exhaust. I walked away just fine and got extremely lucky.

Here is how the bike looked before the crash.

Here it is after.

Gauges destroyed, handlebars bent, something broken inside one of the forks causing the wheel to point to the right, and the clutch cable threaded tube going into the lever even snapped in half. The rear plastics were just about all destroyed. Headers were bent and exhaust nearly broken in half. Engine side cover has some scrapes and the gas tank is dented.

I'm new at working on motorcycles so I'm learning as I go, input is welcome.
I also have a 1982 KZ1000 police bike street tracker that I'm working on at the same time (my current daily driver since crashing my SV650).
Pictures
Build Thread

On to the fun!

That day I stripped it down to this to make sure everything structural is fine. The frame, subframe, and rear sets were undamaged in the crash. It started right up once I hooked up the disconnected clutch lever sensor.

Now that I know it's good I make a plan.

I emailed R&R racing and they can provide a square tube subframe without the exhaust hanger or fairing mounts. This should allow me to use my stock mounting Sargent seat that survived the crash.

Time to start buying stuff.

04-05 GSX-R 1000 upper triple clamp

2006-2007 GSXR 750 front end

2007-2008 GSXR 1000 front wheel

Remove the subframe and battery box plastics

Test mount forks, top triple, and wheel. They fit (what a relief)!

The ignition doesn't clear the frame, easy fix using a dremel on the mounting holes.