Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is actually copied over from another site, hope you guys don't mind, but its my first build.

I had been looking for my first bike for a couple of years, while I road my father in-laws vtx (not my style but still fun) Then memorial day weekend, I went and checked this out, I got him to drop in price some, needed rear turns, a side cover and has some minor dings and scratches but it runs great. Tons of fun, feels so small (in size not power) Feels like I can just flick it around.

Here's my brand new to me (and my first bike) 1983 GPZ550 with less than 7k miles.

I've got all kinds of plans for it, but I'm going to try to just it enjoy it this year and play with it over the winter.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Can't see a lot of the work I've gotten done, but here is where she stands. New turns front and rear, with solid state flashers and relays to allow 2wire turns to act as running and turn signals. Got a new smaller battery, relocated to the tail. Cleaned up all of the PO's shoddy wiring. Removed the fairing and one side cover. Changed filters, plugs and wires. New grips and bar ends, a phone mount as well as a USB charger wired in.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just a generic 12v 10ah I got off amazon. Its about 6lbs and ~6"x2.5"x4.5" if memory serves me right.

·
Chief Breakshit Engineer
223 Posts
I can remember having my bike pretty close to that state for a while. I enjoy seeing this and it gets me to think about my project. My kawi is also my first build, but I've ben rebuilding it for a long time now.

Looks like the battery is poking up on the tail. I had the same thing going on before with the tail pointed up but that was due to the tail light being inside.