Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I said in my intro thread I would post up a build. I just want throw out there that I have been riding a long time, but this is my first time really modifying anything on a bike or even working on one more than removing fairings/changing oil etc. So, if I seem a bit like a newb, its because I am!

So I started tearing the bike down with a master plan in mind. But, we all know that's not how it happened.

My plan was to tear the bike down including removing the wheels. Paint the tank rear fairings, and wheels, clean the body up, install the bar end mirrors, paint the headers and motor, re-install all the parts and be ready to rock.

Started with this -

Started tearing it down only to find i did not have the 27mm socket required to get the rear wheel off, or the 19mm allen head to get the front wheel off. Will have to work on those later this week and it works out since I'm changing my paint plans anyway.

Went ahead and did what I could, and laid down my first layer of white plastidip

While that dried I de-greased and cleaned the whole bike frame, motor, radiator, suspension etc. Lots of dirtiness and grime but no current leaks. Found LOTS of electronics unhooked but everything seems to work perfectly fine.

Went to install the Ebay Chinese bar end mirrors that you can buy for 18 bucks. They are for 7/8th bars withOUT inserts in them. They go inside the handle bar, and compress outward to hold in place. But, the Triumph has bungs for mounting bar ends welded into the clip ons, so that wasn't going to work. I ended up buying a couple of 6mm screws to put through the bar end mounting point, and threw out the junky inner mount clips, and just threaded the 6mm bolt through the mount into the stock bar end mounting hole.

Forgot the before pics but I taped off and started painting on headers and motor with 2000 degree paint.