Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Fellas!

New member here but not new to motorcycles. I have been buying project bikes on CraigsList and eBay for a few years. Most recently I purchased a 1989 CBR F1 Hurricane for a steal!

Bike came with new tires (170 rear :) ), new battery, new front rotors, pads all around, new mirrors and a few other odds and ends like new wires and plugs.

Here are the pictures :

When I got the bike it didnt run but he swore that last month before he did the "Tune Up" it was a screamer! I took it home, plugged the carbs in properly, some how they wiggled out of the rubber gromits that hold them to the block, I noticed the choke cable is not attached so I put that on and with a bit of ether the bike roared to life.

My plans are to put on a newer model tail, raise the whole bike up 20 or so mm by adding on to the bottom of the shock, put some 12-o'clock bars and a fighter headlight. Then Im going to paint the frame, exhaust and motor all black and the fairings/plastics white.

I hope to get some good information from you guys as I have seen quite a few Hurricanes on this site that are right along the lines of what I plan on doing.

Cheers!
Tupp

·
Premium Member
20,726 Posts
Welcome to CF Tuff! Love the bike! Don't know what you paid, but looks like you got a h*ll of a deal! Repped you for the great intro & bike pics. :D

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So I finally got the bike to fire on its own. I thought that the fuel pump relay was bad but before I paid for that specialized part I wanted to rule the simple shiz out. Blew through all the fuel lines, jumped the fuel pump... All good. However the fuel filter was clogged like WOAH!

So I took the filter out and just ran the line straight to the tank. I cranked and cranked and felt the pump kick on and off.... I was on the right track.