Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
ass
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there. ive been riding for a couple of years (1981 honda cm400 custom, and a 99 CBR F4), but am completely new to customizing. I've more or less relinquished the cm400 to the girlfriend so I've turned my attention over to the CBR.

Ive got a pretty good idea of what I wanna do with it (mostly cosmetic at this point) but I don't know where to start.

I've been reading lots of CBR f4 build threads - both here and elsewhere and they are truly inspiring- however, in a technical sense, they're useless to me - since i don't really know any of the jargon or terminology.

On to my question - is there a guide that could help me get up to speed on the basics? terminology, basic methodology, tips on sourcing/fabricating new parts etc?

For instance, the gauge cluster on the CBR is an absolute bloated monstrosity and needs to go. Ive got a couple id like to mount in its place - but how will I know if they're compatible. Is the interface pretty standard across different makes?

Im not looking to replace the exhaust yet (will down the road) but what're some things I should keep in mind? What aspects make an exhaust loud/quiet? What will add HP? Do all slip-ons fit every bike? How am I likely going to fuck up the first time I try replacing it myself?

you get the idea... once you're familiar with the process, these questions are simple... but for a noob, its a little intimidating.

·
WTF is a motorcycle?
3,003 Posts
Watch out on the F4 gauges, there is a wire that needs to be grounded.
Ask what terminology is confusing and we can help :D

·
WTF is a motorcycle?
3,003 Posts
Wow, I should add more to that.