Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have these little plastic pieces for a helmet that hold the face shield on. I broke a piece once before and i replaced them but i want them to be stronger and slightly different. This is what the piece looks like:

The part is an "X" i would like it to be changed to an "H" kind of a gothic style. And then powder matte black and the "H" dark matte red. I dont want it right away, my bike is down for a while because i'm still working on it and dont need a helmet till its done and i have another i can use anyway. I just wanna see if there is someone willing to do it for me and i'm willing to pay for it to get it done.

I think the best process to do it would be to cast them, make a wax duplicate of them, fill it and then carve out the design in them. Then make a mold so you could do a lost wax cast of them. Thats my thinking but i'm no expert so if you know a better way let me know. I can even send aluminum scraps with the pieces to use for them.

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Really? I was thinking maybe 15-30 bucks. Or hell someone help me put all the info together so i can build a build a furnace or something so i can pour them myself.

·
Is my bike ok?
15,025 Posts
It's pretty intricate part. Even if it was done on a CNC machine to reduce the amount of "labor'' there's still a lot of labor in it. Changing tools, touching off the tool after the part if flipped,etc. Not to mention just getting the part programmed in the first place. Then, all that x2.

And that part on a manual machine? Lot's of time invested. Mass production is great. One off custom machine work is expensive.

But...a determined guy could rock on with a dremel and some files. ;)

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I was thinking more old school and casting the piece. Make a plaster cast and pour it into it.