Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an idiot.

Thats probably the best place to start. I am in my second semester of my MSEE @ UT, I have no time due to school. For the first time in my life money isnt the issue. I even have a small storage unit I have been parting bikes from. BTW did I mention I have no time?

And then this popped up. I scope CL for business reasons, but some guy was selling a 1986 FZ600 and a 1985 XJ600. Neither has run in like 20 years. The XJ has been sitting outside. But he has a bunch of extra parts, 1 new battery, and clean titles.

So I check ebay and confirm that the value of these bikes is about scrap. The nicest one I could find was worth a grand. I read some reviews from old MC mags. 60 hp on a good day. Air cooled 4 banger - nothing special. Except its pretty light and pretty agile. So what? the businessman in my says fuck this. Its not worth the time to pick it up. But the gearhead in me sees something special. I have no idea why.

Anyway the guy gave it all up for $200. So being a sucker I picked it up. These bikes have consumed just about all the space in my storage unit.

So to the point. Budget is $500, not including tires. Anything I part from the XJ goes towards the fund. I am $200 in at this point. Ohh, and there is one more tiny detail. I leave for Detroit for my internship on May 24. The semester ends on May 10 (my last final). Between now and May 10, I have 4 test, 2 major papers, who knows how many projects, and I am a TA for Senior design so theres that. I am already planning on buying a trailer to bring my VMAX up to Detroit, they would think I was nuts, if I showed up with a truck, and 2 bikes in tow. On a positive note as a member of FSAE I have access to a full machine shop/TIG/ tons of scrap ect.