Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently building a gsxr 600 adv bike and I have no knowledge regarding springs/shocks. I am trying to give the bike a little more ground clearance and raise the back end more to have a motard feel of it. I am looking at shock swaps and seeing if there is something that I can do to get this effect. I saw a sv650 that installed a longer shock that raised the ground clearance from 6" to 9". Is this manageable on my bike?

Any info that can point me in the right direction would be great.

Bike: 2006 gsxr 600 stock

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I started reading up on shocks and the attributes of them. Would getting a longer shock that has proper clearance help to raise the back end? I assume this would be doable by also having a stiffer(?) set up?

·
Registered
705 Posts
If you are trying to raise the bike by putting in a longer shock you will also have to swap the forks for longer ones. And a longer shock may require modification. I put a 2004 gsxr shock in my 1992, it's about 3/8" of an inch longer if I remember right and it wouldn't fit without modifying the linkage a bit. The '06 shock is shorter than the '04, same size as the '92. You can get some height increase by just switching to an '04/'05 shock.
Anyway without changing the front end you may not like the steering. I have my forks flush with the top triple and it's really nervous, like dives into turns and you're kind of steering it back up instead of into the turn. Over bumps the front end wiggles. I took some preload out just to lower the back end down. The damping on the stock shocks isn't great so keep that in mind too, it's pretty harsh.

·
lɐʇuǝɯᴉɹǝdx&#4
3,516 Posts
Longer dogbone linkages maybe?

I think I saw somebody here make their own adjustable links. No idea who it was though.