Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in November I picked up my first real street bike (I've had little toys before but nothing even registration worthy). Put it in a friend's basement and kind of left it out of mind. Well blame it on summer I got motivated to start tearing into it again.
Here's what I've got:

It's a 2002 ninja zx6e. It was dumped hard enough to snap the footpeg off and break the tail fairing. Obviously First thing I did was strip the rest of the fairing :Evil_smile:. The tank and airbox are off just to get to the carbs and easy access to everything. She wants to start but general verdict is the carbs need to be cleaned and adjusted. 90% sure it's minor.
Figured I would start a formal build thread. It will likely be slow as I am a full time student and a 2nd shift machinist. I have some plans, but we will talk about those when we reach them:stop: Get it started and then chopchopchop!

·
I love lamps
4,113 Posts
cool shit mang, good meeting you today and thanks for that tach! def get your carbs cleaned and bench sync them and I bet you she'll start right up. (you could skip the bench sync but it wouldn't hurt)

eventually rob will see this so robbo this man needs a bobber seat nudge nudge wink wink not sure if you might have one laying around (only if you aren't using it of course!)

Ok here we go Bench syncing 101

First the carbs need to be out of the bike and on the bench upside down with the butterflys showing. Now if you turn the throttle where the cables attach you will see the butterflys move now this does not mean they are working together!!

We need two drill bits the same size 1/8 inch works good but whatever you have since most drill bits are the same size as in the dies are the same well close enough for you machinests LOL