Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. My name is Adam. This is my first post here (1 of many I imagine) so I guess I'll say a little about myself. I did six years in the Air Force and I'm now a current Chemical Engineering student living off that amazing GI Bill. heh

I have a 2003 Kawasaki Ninja 636 (ZX6-R) that I am going to be transforming into a street fighter. I attached a photo of myself and the bike so you guys can check out what I'm working with. The bike looks different now as I've stripped it down but you can still see. To get a sense of what I do on the bike: I use it as my daily rider, rain or shine baby! And I also go out to the Twisties (roads, not track yet) frequently, I'm still working on dragging the knees; I'll drag my feet like no ones business tho... hehe. While I am a mechanically inclined person (I was a mechanic in the AF) I'm quite the beginner when it comes to working on bikes and such (so in other words I can do the work... but I'm not sure what the work is heh)

Thus far, I've taken the cowling and fenders off. I have a plan on what I want to do with the bike and I am going to outline it and hopefully get some good feedback!

This is what I plan on doing and the things I'll be needing:
BMX style handle bars (I've seen from browsing this forum they're called "dirty bars")
Triple clamp set
Handlebar mounting brackets
Gage mounting bracket
Handlebar grips/ends
Mirrors
Windshield
Headlight
Blinkers

Now here is where the questions come in:

1) I've noticed that there are two sizes on handle bars 7/8" and 1 1/8". From looking at pictures it doesn't seem there's anything mechanically different with them other than diameter. Is this the case, or is there something else that is going on there? Also, I've noticed there can be a large price gap between the two sizes, so is there really much of a difference other than aesthetics?