Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey, i am still very new to these customizing things -_- but i was wondering where can i get info about if one subframe will fit on another bike? specifically i wanna know if the 06 gsxr tail / subframe will go onto my 05 f4i. I dont have a spare one to actually SEE if it will fit nor do i know anyone with the bike that will let me try... so im just wondering how do ppl go about changing / doing their subframe conversions?

thanks

·
The Soft Serve Enigma
16,719 Posts
There's no guide...that's the fun part. Get it, cut it, weld it. I put an R6 subframe and rear end on a 1995 Kawasaki ZX6E, which is a touring bike. It just takes some balls to cut off a subframe or its mounting points. After that, it's all prefitting and designing. Then, make or have brackets made and weld or bolt them to the frame. It's different every time...it's never* a direct bolt on!

*by never I mean 99.9999999%. I'm sure there's bikes that have "x" parts interchangeable, which is great, but you all know what I mean. If it was easy, we wouldn't be streetfighters would we? We'd all have custom choppers...'cause it's easy to pay someone else to build your personality into a bike...riiiiight...

It can definitely be done man....just put your mind to it, and do it. It never seems that easy but you won't get very far if you never try!

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ya i am just very paranoid that if i do any modification and turns out nothing will work :D
when i get the cash ill give it a try with switching subframe... for now im gonna see if theres ANY way for me to mount the fairing it self onto my current subframe.

·
ADAM FAN CLUB PRESIDENT
12,319 Posts
endo said: