Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a tail tidy for my mk1 B12 (on it when I bought it), but I want it even cleaner. Looking to transform it into a fighter, and am thinking of an Yamaha R6 tail. I see a lot of people doing this and I like the look.

Anyone have any experience with this or similar mod? Do I need the rear sub-frame from the R6? Or can I work with just the panels and existing sub-frame? I found a set of panels on Craigslist that I am sure I can get for a decent price. As you can probably tell, I am a real newb when it comes to chopping bodywork so any help would be appreciated. Also be interested to hear other Bandit tail options. I am not really interested in a full bob.

Thanks.

·
364 Posts
your better off using
the r6 subframe,will look a hell of a lot better.
cut off the original one and get lugs welded on.
reshape the seat to suit your tank.
alittle bit of work in it but
half arsed will always look half arsed.
rgds

·
364 Posts
thanks FighterMC I will start looking for some R6 crash victims to find a subframe.
best way to go mate.
have a look at my blade it has an r6 tail on it
but i had alot of work in moding the subframe.
you should be ok cos you can put the lugs to suit
i had to go with the hangers on the frame.
best of luck and get some pics up.

·
BAD MOTHER FUCKER !
642 Posts
I have done it to my GSXR1100W the bolted on subframe, just got the R6 plastic & made myself a steel subframe, I am getting to the final touches now, pillion pegs, covering up the frame final paint job etc ....
the bandit frame I reckon would be a lot easier to mod it,
drop us a line if you need some guidance

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks brother I appreciate the offer for help, and I probably will be taking you up on it. :D What year R6 should I be looking at? Some say 2000 or less?