Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to get this stupid fucking stretch blocks off my r1. I have a new master link and a chain breaker. My big question the reason I haven't done it yet is do I need a chain riveter? It's a I-ring chain and the master has a clip.

So I break the old the master link use the Dermal to cut the other links I need out. Now putting in the new master can I just use a wrech or something to squeeze it together then put the clip on?

For some reason I can't think of the right way to do it and it's bothering me so fucking much. Any help would be fucking amazing

·
Bitches love Fighters
5,325 Posts
Yeah you should be able to get it back together with a pair of pliers. Take the extensions off and put it all back together before you cut your chain so you can measure everything better. Make sure the open piece of the clip faces the back of the bike when it's on the top run of the chain

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

Reactions: shotgun

·
Super Moderator
3,021 Posts
No need for a riveter with a clip type master link. I like using a big pair of vice grips to press the side plate on. They seem to give me better leverage as I can adjust them, clamp, readjust, clamp, etc.

Later, Doug

Reactions: shotgun

·
i cant fart
10,917 Posts
I dont trust clip master links. They use to stock them at my shop before i started working there, i never reordered them when we ran out.

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have another chain that's the same pitch off one of my zx6 and I was going to see if it fit and it would save me the time of breaking all the links I need to. I hope that works I was just worried that I'd fuck it up. It's just one of those simple things that for sone reason I'm scared I'll fuck up but fuck it I'm doing it tomorrow after work. Wish me luck

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·