Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Is my bike ok?
15,025 Posts
I have zero personal experience with tank liners, but I've heard more bad about them than I have good.

I had a pinhole in a tank once. Patched it with JB Weld. About 4 years and a little over 10,000 miles and it never gave any trouble. The stuff will sand smooth just like body filler.

·
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
30,426 Posts
I have zero personal experience with tank liners, but I've heard more bad about them than I have good.
What bad things? I am going to need to line the inside of my carbon fiber gas tank.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Correct, Kreem sucks. Don't waste your time with it.

Go to tractor supply and get a bottle of this orange acid wash shit. It's for cleaning dairy equipment. If your tank is rusty/nasty, pour it in full strength (careful, strong acid, wear gloves/glasses) and let it sit, shaking every so often. Drain and rinse with water, allow to dry. The acid will come out really dirty and leave the tank shiny sparkling clean in most cases. I've heard CLR (the bathroom cleaner stuff) works well also.

At the dealership we used Red-Kote a couple times on really bad tanks with good results. One of my buddies used a POR15 tank liner without issue as well, I'd say either of those is a good choice. Trying to patch leaks from the outside almost never works, tank liners are the only solution.

·
Bitches love Fighters
5,325 Posts
i used the por15 kit and it came out great. i had enough to paint the whole bottom of my tank with. not a drop has leaked and no flaking. also with jb weld, the ethanol in fuel eats that stuff up.

Reactions: ROBBO

·
Is my bike ok?
15,025 Posts
What bad things? I am going to need to line the inside of my carbon fiber gas tank.