Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks in no small part to my lurking on this site, I am making some headway on my '93 seca II streetfighter project.

My newest addition is a new exhaust which consists of factory headers, custom 1 7/8" piping into a scorpion slipon (meant for a gsxr 1000). This is the only engine modification done so far.

After getting everything installed, the bike runs poor. I knew this would happen, but I am a novice when it comes to engine tuning. I am trying to hold off rejetting until I do a rebuild this winter. So my knowledge is left with changing heat of spark plugs, and adjusting air fuel mixture. I have been told to just adjust the plug heat to help tune the engine. I tried the search, but didnt come up with much, I'm lookin for any knowledgable advice on this one.

Thanks--Matt

·
The Soft Serve Enigma
16,719 Posts
bossmankx said:
I am trying to hold off rejetting until I do a rebuild this winter. So my knowledge is left with changing heat of spark plugs, and adjusting air fuel mixture. I have been told to just adjust the plug heat to help tune the engine.
First off, bike looks good.

That said, if you hold off on jetting too long, you'll be doing a very extensive/expensive rebuild before you plan to. Don't wait, pay the man and get it done proper, on a dyno. Changing heat ranges and idle mixture's will only fuck it up worse. Heat range will hardly do anything, and a/f mixture should be at 2% CO at idle, which can only be done with a gas analyzer. I know someone will disagree with me, but workin with dyno's, carbed bikes, and gas analzyer's everyday, this is my experience.

·
DIZZLE
1,446 Posts