Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was thinking on putting turbo on my bike (yamaha xj400) but i was stucked at planning on how it was rigged into the carbs.

I'ved read about the blow through and draw through systems BUT....

i was worried on having too rich on lower RPMs and lean on Higher RPMs...

does anybody know a diagram or link or anything that will help me solve this??

PS.
i was also thinking on pressurizing the carbs to overcome this BUT is it right and how??
also im a bit newbie around bikes and i do most of the stuffs by myself (DIY)....

Thanks!!

·
science bitch
1,022 Posts
I would head over to amazon and pick up "Maximum Boost" by Corky Bell. Should have everything you would want to know, and it's really nice to be able to reference back to when your elbows deep in it.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hey there! I have that book it is a great book for info on everything turbochargers.no info on superchargers though. It is worth it! It has helped me with plenty of car projects.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Lol yes it works for bikes its general info on turbos it will give you what you need. You will be able to adapt the info to bikes just need to do some math e.c.t

·
UnicycleMode
7,569 Posts
had a glance at the book a while ago. it was interesting.. it was for cars will it work to bike??

Pretty much comes down to a combustion engine is just that regardless of being in a bike or a car. The rich/lean worry you have, with enough knowledge, you would know that the pitot tube that pressures the float bowls of the carbs keeps fuel moving when boost begins building.

Supercharging isn't voodoo either, it just takes a healthy knowledge of what pully ratios your going to need so you can use the S/C unit in its effective range of rpm.