Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
GURU
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
will make a deeper exhaust note than the rice burning Yoshi I have on my bike now? Is it possible with an inline 4 to get a deeper sound that's Ducati like?

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
Try chopping it. It's never going to be as low a pitch as a twin but a long muffler doesn't help :)

·
All star !!!
6,714 Posts
I am no exhaust expert, but I think it has to do with piston size and exhaust pulsing. V twins have larger diameter pistons for the same size CC motor in an inline 4. So, with that in mind, I don't think it matter what exhaust you put on it, its not gonna sound like a duc.

·
Function IS Form
19 Z900, 88 Kat11
17,434 Posts
Exhaust sound is dependant on cylinder dimentions, head design, number of cylinders, firing order, engine angle/bank, pipe dimensions, pipe shape, intake design, and muffler design.

·
GURU
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah I know it's not going to sound exactly like it but there has to be something that can give it a deeper growl. I saw/heard a bike from a distance the other day...I believe it was a Honda (not sure) and it had a deep growl to it. What do 2 brothers sound like? I know I sound like a real newb asking these questions but I've never replaced an exhaust on a bike and I need to be steered in the right direction.

·
the mad doctor
3,399 Posts
haelo said:
Exhaust sound is dependant on cylinder dimentions, head design, number of cylinders, firing order, engine angle/bank, pipe dimensions, pipe shape, intake design, and muffler design.

:Stupid:

it has little to do with the pipe, and alot to do with the bike.

·
GURU
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
It very well might have been. When I first heard it I turned around and could have sworn I was going to see a Duc.

·
407 Posts