Custom Fighters - Custom Streetfighter Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1989 Ninja XR600c. Little piece of shit (I'm 6'4") but I couldn't be happier.

Half the gauges didn't work and the license plate was missing but ended up registering fine. Needed a TON of work but I was able to ride it home last night for my first ride on a street bike! As a part time mechanic I couldn't wait to dive into the world of bikes. I plan on a full mechanical tune up then swapping plastics.

(These are my posts from KawiForums... but that forum seems dead so I'm converting)

Picked it up on a tuesday night at 8pm and paid 360$ for it. Rode it home (first time on a bike bigger than a 80cc lol) and instantly fell in love. PO said the head gasket was good but after a few days of riding I decided to do a compression test and got a whopping 5psi in cylinder 4. Off came the head right away. After a bit of cleaning and inspection I decided to order a new used head from ebay. Found one for 75$ that supposedly had 19k on it. Head came in the mail last night and looks to be pretty damn straight with no stuck valves.

Somewhere in there I went nuts and probably spent around 800$ on parts. Ordered:
-Clymer manual
-head gasket
-exhaust gasket
-spark plugs
-new oil/filter
-pod style air filters
-carb rejet/rebuild kit
-LED headlights/steel for custom bezel
-all parts to repair my choke and hand controls (was a manual bicycle wire style choke lol)
-breathers for PCV and crankcase
-new battery
-heavy duty cooling system flush fluid for rust

Almost all of it has arrived so almost time for reassembly. Yesterday I re-jetted the carb for the first time (fingers crossed its good enough). Today ill be block sanding the new head... Going to take the head and as many parts I can into work to use the parts washer tomorrow.